An Identity Liability

Kumar is an Indian Adoptee who is interested in politics and likes to write about environmentalism, ALS and adoption. In this blogpost he writes about identity and how it sometimes can be difficult to navigate between two worlds him being an adoptee.

A Stroll Through My Mind

Looking at a mirror I often times, more so now than in the past am startled by my reflection. I almost don’t recognize myself. My face, it looks, well, different. I’m not the young undistinguishable American looking back at me. I’m…I’m Indian. I look Indian. I mean, well, I can tell, just by looking at me that I’m Indian.

I always remember being surprised, almost insulted sometimes, when someone guessed that I was from India. I would always ask them in response, “Just out of curiosity, how did you know I was Indian?” it was a serious question, I did want to know how they knew, but really I wanted to know how they found out. Often times I felt exposed, embarrassed and like I had been found out. I’ll admit it happened  a lot less when I was a preteen/teenager than it does now, as an adult. Nonetheless it…

View original post 646 more words

Leave a Reply

